

## Address :Strategic Communication Division Level 18, Block C, Head Quarters Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission, No. 2, Lebuh Wawasan, Presint 7, 62250 Putrajaya Tel. : 03-8870 0015 Email : komunikasi@sprm.gov.my Web : www.sprm.gov.my Twitter : twitter.com/SPRMMalaysia Facebook: facebook.com/sprm.benci.rasuah Youtube : www.youtube.com/odvmacc

## PRESS STATEMENT MALAYSIAN ANTI-CORRUPTION COMMISSION

## SEVEN SCC MEMBERS RECEIVED LETTER OF APPOINTMENT TODAY

A total of seven new members were appointed to the Special Committee on Corruption (SCC) by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong for a period of three years, effective from 15 July 2021 to 14 July 2024.

The appointment was on the advice of the Prime Minister in accordance with Section 14 of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission Act 2009 (Act 694).

All the SCC members consisted of Members of the Senate and Members of the House of Representatives from both the government and opposition party.

The members of the Special Committee on Corruption (SCC) are as follows:

- 1. YB Senator Tan Sri Dato' Seri Utama Dr. Rais Yatim The President of the Senate
- 2. YB Senator Tuan Ir. Md Nasir Hashim Member of the Senate
- 3. YB Senator Puan Hajah Raj Munni Sabu Member of the Senate
- 4. YB Senator Tuan Haji Idris Ahmad Member of the Senate
- 5. YB Senator Tuan Zaiedi Haji Suhaili Member of the Senate
- 6. YB Tuan Hassan Abdul Karim Member of Parliament Pasir Gudang
- 7. YB Tuan Wong Hon Wai Member of Parliament Bukit Bendera



The SCC is responsible to check the MACC Annual Report and advise the Prime Minister on various aspects regarding corruption issues in the country.

In addition, the SCC is also required to check the Anti-Corruption Advisory Board's (ACAB) reviews on the functions of this commission based on the MACC Act 2009 as well as obtain clarification on the MACC Annual Report.

Hopefully with the appointment of the SCC, the members can help meet society's expectations on the independence, efficiency, effectiveness, transparency, and accountability of this commission to fulfil its functions.

The appointment letters for SCC members were presented by the YAB Prime Minister, Tan Sri Dato' Haji Mahiaddin Hj Md Yasin, witnessed by the MACC Chief Commissioner, Datuk Seri Azam Baki at the Parliament building, Kuala Lumpur, today.

## THE MALAYSIAN ANTI-CORRUPTION COMMISSION PUTRAJAYA

26<sup>th</sup> JULY 2021



**For further inquiries, please contact** Director of Strategic Communication Division, Kamaruddin M. Ripin (019-6217577) or Azrai Mohammad (019-6106962)

Suruhanjaya Pencegahan Rasuah Malaysia (SPRM) merupakan sebuah agensi penguatkuasaan yang ditubuhkan melalui penggubalan Akta SPRM 2009 (Akta 694) bagi meningkatkan keberkesanan dan kecekapan dalam usaha pencegahan rasuah di Malaysia serta untuk memperbaiki persepsi kebebasan dan ketelusan dalam pelaksanaan fungsi-fungsi SPRM. SPRM turut disokong oleh mekanisme *check and bala*nce dalam memastikan SPRM berindak selaras dengan kehendak perundangan negara dan aspirasi masyarakat. Suruhanjaya ini dahulunya dikenali sebagai Badan Pencegah Rasuah (BPR).